Accessibility links

Down To The Wire In Afghanistan


Afghanistan-- Afghan workers of the Afghan Independent Election Commission (IEC) count ballots at a polling station for the presidential elections in Kandahar, Afghanistan, April 5 2014.

Afghanistan-- Afghan workers of the Afghan Independent Election Commission (IEC) count ballots at a polling station for the presidential elections in Kandahar, Afghanistan, April 5 2014.

Afghans will take to the polls on June 14 to decide which of the last candidates standing -- Abdullah Abdullah or Ashraf Ghani -- will be their next president. The foreign policy issues in play are profound: NATO troop withdrawal, the Bilateral Security Agreement, religious extremism, and regional security.

Join us for a Google + Hangout on Friday, June 13 at 9:30 am (Washington, D.C.), 3:30 pm (Prague, Czech Republic) 6 pm (Kabul, Afghanistan).

Watch here:


Panelists:

Frud Bezhan, RFE/RL’s Central Newsroom Correspondent, live blogging on the campaign, the election, and its repercussions direct from Kabul.

Akbar Ayazi, Regional Director of Broadcasting, Prague, overseeing RFE/RL's Afghanistan and Pakistan broadcast services. Ayazi is a frequent commentator on Afghan politics, and before joining RFE/RL, was a broadcaster for Afghan National Radio and TV.

Daud Khattak
, Senior Editor with RFE/RL's Pakistan Service, Radio Mashaal. Khattak, based in Prague, has written for "Foreign Policy," "Christian Science Monitor" and "CTC Sentinel." He is an expert on militancy in Pakistan's tribal areas, the Pakistani Taliban, and Pashtun politics and society.

Moderator: Mardo Soghom, RFE/RL’s Regional Director for Iran & Iraq. Based in Prague, Soghom has written extensively on Middle East politics and previously served as News Director for Radio Farda, RFE/RL’s Persian Service.

We invite you to post questions in advance and follow updates for live links to the Google+ Hangout on Twitter and Facebook. #RFERLive @RFERL

XS
SM
MD
LG