Accessibility links

RFE/RL Reports: Crisis in Crimea

Soldiers with no insignia have taken up positions around a Ukrainian Coast Guard base at Perevalne near Crimea's regional capital, Simferopol, while Russia's Ambassador to the U.N. Vitaly Churkin revealed today that Ukraine's ousted President Viktor Yanukovych sent a letter to Russian President Vladimir Putin requesting that he use the Russian military to restore law and order in his country. The deployment of troops across Crimea has sparked an international outcry, and U.S. President Barack Obama pronounced Russia "on the wrong side of history" on Ukraine. The latest from RFE/RL on the crisis in Ukraine:

# LIVEBLOG -- As news breaks, RFE/RL's Central Newsroom and Ukrainian Service, Radio Svoboda, will have the reports.

# RFE/RLive: What's Past is Prologue: Russia's Incursions in Ukraine, Georgia, Moldova, and Beyond. A live discussion on Wednesday, March 5 at 10 am EST/ 4pm Prague/ 5pm Kyiv and Chisinau / 7 pm Tbilisi.

# A century-and-a-half ago, Russia clashed with the West over Crimea, and it didn't end well. Is history repeating itself? The latest from "The Power Vertical" by Brian Whitmore.

# One noted political commentator, Andrei Zubov, has compared Putin to Nazi dictator Adolf Hitler and claims Russia's president has "lost his mind." Zubov, a 62-year-old historian and professor of philosophy at the prestigious Moscow State Institute of International Affairs (MGIMO), spoke to correspondent Claire Bigg, who also reports on the ambivalent mood of Russian citizens.

# How are Crimean Tatars reacting to the Russian incursion on the peninsula? Correspondent Tom Balmforth traveled to a Tatar village on the outskirts of Simferopol and files this report.

# The Russian ruble has plummeted to a record low against the U.S. dollar as the Ukrainian crisis revives Cold War-style tensions. Here are four things to know about the ruble's fall, and where things might go from here. Correspondent Charles Recknagel reports.

# Kazakh, Kyrgyz, and Tajik citizens spoke to RFE/RL on the streets of Almaty, Bishkek, and Dushanbe sharing their reactions to Russia's intervention in Ukraine's Crimea region.

# Just what Ukraine's crisis was missing: Chechen strongman Ramzan Kadyrov.

For news from all of RFE/RL's broadcast regions, follow us online and on Twitter and Facebook.