The chief refereeing officer for the European soccer federation, Pierluigi Collina, has admitted that the decision not to allow a goal scored by Ukraine in its match with England was a mistake.
Collina added that Hungarian referee Viktor Kassai and his assistants, who ruled not to count the Ukraine goal, would not take part in the tournament's further matches.
England won the match 1-0.
The loss eliminated Ukraine from the championship it is co-hosting with Poland.
Earlier on June 20, the head of the world soccer federation, FIFA, said it was necessary for top-level competitions to start using goal-line technology or have referees review plays with a video replay.
On June 20, Blatter wrote on Twitter that after the Ukraine-England game, goal-line technology is "no longer an alternative but a necessity."
FIFA will decide in July whether to approve use of a goal-line technology system.
Based on reporting by AP, dpa, Interfax, and AFP