Accessibility links

Breaking News

Georgian President Presents New Cabinet

Tbilisi, 14 February 2004 (RFE/RL) -- Georgian President Mikheil Saakashvili today said he had concluded work on the composition of the government.

Addressing reporters in Tbilisi, Saakashvili said the list of ministers will be sent to parliament for approval tomorrow.

The new, 15-member cabinet is to include four women, including Tamar Beruchashvili, who will be responsible for Georgia's European integration.

Outgoing Foreign Minister Tedo Japaridze and Interior Minister Giorgi Baramidze are set to keep their posts in the new government.

Defense Minister Tavit Tevzadze has been appointed Georgia's ambassador to NATO and should be replaced by his deputy, Gela Bezhuashvili.

Outgoing Justice Minister Zurab Adeishvili is due to become State Security Minister. The government will be chaired by Zurab Zhvania, one of the co-leaders of the peaceful protests that paved the way for President Eduard Shevardnadze's resignation last November.