Accessibility links

Breaking News

Kazakhs OK Deal On Single Economic Space

21 April 2004 -- Kazakhstan's lower house of parliament today ratified an agreement with Russia, Belarus, and Ukraine to form a Single Economic Space, making Belarus the only country whose parliament has not yet granted its approval to the deal.

Kazakh Deputy Trade and Industry Minister Bolat Smagulov told the parliament that the agreement will contribute to the free movement of goods, services, capital, and the workforce.

Yesterday, the Russian and Ukrainian parliaments ratified the agreement.

The agreement, signed by the four countries' presidents in September, pledges that those four countries will follow the same foreign-trade principles and coordinate their tax, financial, and credit policies to the extent needed for equal competition and macroeconomic stability.


RFE/RL has been declared an "undesirable organization" by the Russian government.

If you are in Russia or the Russia-controlled parts of Ukraine and hold a Russian passport or are a stateless person residing permanently in Russia or the Russia-controlled parts of Ukraine, please note that you could face fines or imprisonment for sharing, liking, commenting on, or saving our content, or for contacting us.

To find out more, click here.