Accessibility links

Breaking News

Estonia's Parliament Ratifies Russia Border Treaty

20 June 2005 (RFE/RL) -- Estonian lawmakers ratified a long-awaited border treaty with Russia today, but only after adding a reference to the Soviet occupation of the country in a preamble.

The amendment was included despite warnings from Russia not to add any declarations that would be unacceptable to Moscow.

Moscow has refused to label the five-decade Soviet stay in the Baltics as occupation, saying Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania willingly joined the Soviet Union.

Lawmakers in the 101-seat parliament ratified the treaty in a 78-4 vote. Nineteen lawmakers did not take part in the vote.

Russia must still ratify the treaty. Moscow balked at signing a planned border treaty with Latvia in May because Latvia insisted on attaching a statement similar to the one approved by Estonia.


RFE/RL has been declared an "undesirable organization" by the Russian government.

If you are in Russia or the Russia-controlled parts of Ukraine and hold a Russian passport or are a stateless person residing permanently in Russia or the Russia-controlled parts of Ukraine, please note that you could face fines or imprisonment for sharing, liking, commenting on, or saving our content, or for contacting us.

To find out more, click here.