Accessibility links

Breaking News

Kyrgyz-Uzbek Visa-Free Travel Agreement Comes Into Force

(RFE/RL) February 15, 2007 (RFE/RL) -- An October 2006 agreement on visa-free travel between Kyrgyzstan and Uzbekistan came into force today.

The Kyrgyz Foreign Ministry says visas for citizens of the two countries will not be required for travel of up to 60 days.

However travelers need international passports to cross the two countries' borders and should register with local authorities at their temporary place of residence.

Only Russia recognizes Kyrgyzstan's internal passport as a travel document.


Central Asia In Focus

Central Asia In Focus

THE COMPLETE STORY: Click on the icon to view a dedicated webpage bringing together all of RFE/RL's coverage of Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan.