Accessibility links

Breaking News

Russia Bans Nine Carriers From Flights To EU

February 16, 2007 -- Russia has banned nine airlines from flying charters to the European Union.

Transportation Minister Aleksandr Misharin told Reuters that Russia made the move after learning that EU authorities were considering banning some Russian carriers on safety grounds.

Among the carriers affected are Utair, Atlant-Soyuz, Russkoye Nebo, Tatarstan, Aviakon Tsitotrans, Aero Rent, and Tsentr Avia.


RFE/RL Russia Report

RFE/RL Russia Report

SUBSCRIBE For news and analysis on Russia by e-mail, subscribe to "RFE/RL Russia Report."