Accessibility links

Breaking News

Baltic States: Assembly Drops Russian As Official Language

Tallinn, 28 April 1997 (RFE/RL) -- Delegates to the Baltic Assembly have reversed an earlier decision and voted to drop Russian as an official language of its future proceedings. This leaves English, Estonian, Latvian and Lithuanian as the official languages of the inter-parliamentary body.

Agencies report that the Assembly, meeting yesterday in Parnu, Estonia, voted down the motion twice before finally adopting it over the protests of Russia-speaking delegates.

The Baltic Assembly, founded in 1992, fosters co-operation among the Baltic nations.