Accessibility links

Breaking News

World: List Of Delegations Attending IMF/World Bank Meeting

Hong Kong, 17 September 1997 (RFE/RL) - The nations of Central and Eastern Europe and Central Asia are well represented among the 181 nations attending the 52nd annual meetings of the International Monetary (IMF) and the World Bank in Hong Kong.

The delegations will arrive in Hong Kong at various stages for a series of meetings and ministerial gatherings this week and for the formal plenary sessions next week. The leaders of the delegations, with the number of people in the delegation in parenthases, are as follows.

Albania (7): Fatos Nano, Prime Minister, and Arden Malaj, Minister of Finance.

Armenia (6): Armen Darbinian, Minister of Finance and Economy, Garnik Nanagulyan, Minister of Trade and Industry, and Bagrat Asatrian, Chairman, Central Bank.

Azerbaijan (5): Fikret Iusifov, Minister of Finance, and Elman Rustamov, Chairman, National Bank.

Belarus (9): Pyotr Prokopovich, 1st Deputy Prime Minister, and Gennady Aleynikov, Chairman, National Bank.

Bosnia-Herzegovina (7): Hasan Muratovic, Minister for Foreign Trade and Economic Relations, and Kasim Omicevic, Governor, Central Bank.

Bulgaria (10): Muravei Radev, Minister of Finance, and Svetoslav Gavriiski, Governor, National Bank.

Croatia (7): Bozo Prka, Minister of Finance, and Marko Skreb, Governor, National Bank.

Czech Republic (13): Ivan Pilip, Minister of Finance, and Joseph Tosovsky, Governor, National Bank.

Estonia (11): Mart Opmann, Minister of Finance, and Vahur Kraft, Governor, Central Bank.

Georgia (5): Michael Chkuaseli, Minister of Finance, and Nodar Javakhishvili, President, National Bank.

Hungary (17): Peter Medgyessy, Minister of Finance, and Gyorgy Suranyi, President, National Bank.

Kazakhstan (7): Alexander Pavlov, Deputy Prime Minister & Minister of Finance, and Umirzak Shukeev, Minister of Economy.

Kyrgyz Republic (5): Talaybek Koichumanov, Minister of Finance, and Marat Sultanov, Chairman, National Bank.

Latvia (6): Roberts Zile, Minister of Finance, and Atis Sausnitis, Minister of Economy.

Lithuania (6): Algirdas Semeta, Minister of Finance, and Reinoldijus Sarkinas, Governor, Central Bank.

Macedonia (Former Yugoslav) (5): Taki Fiti, Minister of Finance, and Ljube Trpeski, Governor, National Bank.

Moldova (6): Valeriu Chitan, Minister of Finance, and Leonid Talomaci, Governor, National Bank.

Poland (15): Marek Belka, Deputy Prime Minister & Minister of Finance, and Hanna Gronkiewicz-Waltz, President, National Bank.

Romania (13): Mircea Ciumara, Minister of Finance, and Mugur Isarescu, Governor, National Bank.

Russia (38): Anatoly Chubais, First Deputy Chairman, & Minister of Finance, and Sergei Dubinin, Chairman, Central Bank.

Slovak Republic (11): Sergej Kozlik, Deputy Prime Minister & Minister of Finance, and Vladimir Masar, Governor, National Bank.

Slovenia (7): Mitja Gaspari, Minister of Finance, and France Arhar, Governor, Central Bank.

Tajikistan (9): Yakhyo Azimov, Prime Minister, and Gulomzhon Babayev, State Advisor to the President of the Republic.

Turkmenistan (4): Yolly Gurbanmuradov, Deputy Chairman, Cabinet of Ministers, and Hudaiberdi Orazov, Chairman, Central Bank.

Ukraine (25): Sergiy Tigipko, Deputy Prime Minister, and Victor Yushchenko, Governor, National Bank.

Uzbekistan (8): Bakhtiar Hamidov, Deputy Prime Minister & Minister of Finance, and Faizulla Mulladzhanov, Governor, Central Bank.