Accessibility links

Breaking News

Former Yugoslavia: Leaders Honored For Anti-War Efforts

Washington, 6 November 1997 (RFE/RL) -- Three Balkan political leaders were honored in Washington last night for their anti-war efforts in Bosnia, Croatia and Serbia.

The three Balkan leaders -- Selim Beslagic, mayor of Tuzla, Bosnia; Zlatko Kramaric, mayor of Osijek, Croatia; and Vesna Pesic, president of the Civic Alliance of Serbia -- received the 1997 W. Averell Harriman Democracy Award at a banquet hosted by the National Democratic Institute.

The prize is named for the late American diplomat, governor of New York State and philanthropist. The institute is affiliated with the U.S. Democratic Party. Its aims include the propagation of democracy around the world.

The Institute said the three men were honored for their courageous opposition to war and ultranationalism in their respective countries. The institute said their shared vision of democracy, peace and tolerance is the best hope for the nations in the region.

Previous recipients include Czech President Vaclav Havel, U.S. Secretary of State Madeleine Albright, and former U.S. President Jimmy Carter.