Accessibility links

Breaking News

Russia: Yeltsin Names New Ministers To Cabinet

Moscow, 8 May 1998 (RFE/RL) -- President Boris Yeltsin named several ministers to Russia's new government after talks today with Prime Minister Sergei Kiriyenko. The Kremlin said Yeltsin appointed Oleg Rutkovsky as health minister, Yevgeny Sapiro as minister for nationalities, and reappointed Yevgeny Adamov as minister of atomic energy. But the president named Georgy Gabunia only as acting head of the newly formed trade and industry ministry. The fate of Ivan Rybkin, deputy prime minister in charge of CIS affairs in the old cabinet, remained unclear.

Interfax quoted Yeltsin's spokesman Sergei Yastrzhembsky as saying Yeltsin also signed decrees sacking several officials, including the head of the state customs committee, Anatoly Kruglov.

Meanwhile, Kiriyenko was quoted today as saying budget revenues are so far 26 percent below predictions. Kiriyenko told the business Komersant daily the government may have to make even bigger spending cuts that previously announced.