Accessibility links

Breaking News

Obama Names Delegates For Ukrainian Inauguration

Ukraine's President-elect Petro Poroshenko (left) and U.S. President Barack Obama met in Warsaw on June 4.
The White House says U.S. President Barack Obama is sending an eight-member delegation to Kyiv for the June 7 inauguration of Ukraine’s president-elect, Petro Poroshenko.

Led by Vice President Joe Biden, the U.S. presidential delegation includes Victoria Nuland, U.S. assistant secretary for European and Eurasian affairs.

Delegates from the U.S. Senate include Democrat Chris Murphy of Connecticut, along with Republicans John McCain of Arizona and Ron Johnson of Wisconsin.

Representative Marcia Kaptur, a Democratic congresswoman from Ohio who co-chairs the Congressional Ukrainian Caucus, also is a delegate.

Others are Daniel Baer, the U.S. envoy to the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe, and U.S. Ambassador to Ukraine Geoffrey Pyatt.

Obama met with Poroshenko in Warsaw on June 4 in a show of support for Kyiv amid its ongoing battles against pro-Russian separatists in eastern Ukraine.
  • 16x9 Image


    RFE/RL journalists report the news in 27 languages in 23 countries where a free press is banned by the government or not fully established. We provide what many people cannot get locally: uncensored news, responsible discussion, and open debate.