Accessibility links

Breaking News

EU Adds More Names, Entities To Ukraine Sanctions List

The European Union has added to its sanctions list 15 individuals and 18 entities over their role in the Ukraine crisis.

Among the individuals subjected to travel bans and asset freezes are Chechen President Ramzan Kadyrov, Foreign Intelligence Service (SVR) director Mikhail Fradkov, Federal Security Service (FSB) director Aleksandr Bortnikov as well as Pavel Gubarev, self-described leader of the so-called Republic of Donetsk.

The 18 entities consist of nine companies and nine institutions set up by pro-Russian separatists who have proclaimed independence in eastern Ukraine.

Among the institutions slapped with sanctions are the self-proclaimed separatist entities of Luhansk and Donetsk in eastern Ukraine.

Companies include the Sevastopol commercial port, which was forcefully transfered from Ukrainian control to the Crimean authorities after the annexation of the peninsula by Russia.

  • 16x9 Image


    RFE/RL journalists report the news in 27 languages in 23 countries where a free press is banned by the government or not fully established. We provide what many people cannot get locally: uncensored news, responsible discussion, and open debate.