Accessibility links

Breaking News

Germany, India, South Africa, Colombia To Join UN Security Council

The United Nations Security Council comprises 15 member states, including permanent members Britain, China, France, Russia, and the U.S.
The United Nations General Assembly has elected Germany, India, South Africa and Colombia to two-year seats on the UN Security Council, while Canada and Portugal went to a second round of voting.

Either Canada or Portugal will join the other four countries to serve two-year terms beginning in January 2011 and ending in December 2012.

All will be non-veto-wielding members of the 15-nation body, which has the authority to impose sanctions and deploy peacekeeping forces.

compiled from Reuters reports