Accessibility links

Breaking News

Sakharov Prize Marks 20th Anniversary

This year's winner
This year's winner

An international conference in Strasbourg devoted to the 20th anniversary of the Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought ended today with the awarding of the prize to Chinese political activist Hu Jia.

Hu is jailed in Beijing and his wife, Zeng Jinyan, gave a video address from Beijing -- where she is under house arrest -- in accepting the award.

One idea discussed at the conference was the creation of a Sakharov Prize Laureates' Club, which would allow past winners to exchange ideas and experiences.

Previous winners of the Sakharov Prize include former South African President Nelson Mandela and Belarusian opposition leader Alyaksandr Milinkevich.

-- Russian Service

About This Blog

Written by RFE/RL editors and correspondents, Transmission serves up news, comment, and the odd silly dictator story. While our primary concern is with foreign policy, Transmission is also a place for the ideas -- some serious, some irreverent -- that bubble up from our bureaus. The name recognizes RFE/RL's role as a surrogate broadcaster to places without free media. You can write us at

Latest Posts