Accessibility links

Breaking News

Armenia Parliament Avoids Voting On Karabakh

A majority of factions in the Armenian parliament have refused to take part in a vote to recognize the independence of Azerbaijan's breakaway Nagorno-Karabakh region.

Only 11 lawmakers out of 131 took part in the November 13 voting, of which 10 voted for recognition of the self-proclaimed Republic of Nagorno-Karabakh, with one abstention.

The proposal to recognize the region's independence was made by the opposition Heritage faction.

The majority of the lawmakers said recognition of Nagorno-Karabakh would mar ongoing peace talks.

Armenia and Azerbaijan have been locked in a conflict over Nagorno-Karabakh, which local Armenian separatists, backed by Yerevan, seized from Azerbaijan during a devastating war in the 1990s.

Last week, Armenian President Serzh Sarkisian and his Azerbaijani counterpart, Ilham Aliyev, agreed to meet later this month to resume talks on Nagorno-Karabakh, which remains unrecognized by any country.

RFE/RL has been declared an "undesirable organization" by the Russian government.

If you are in Russia or the Russia-controlled parts of Ukraine and hold a Russian passport or are a stateless person residing permanently in Russia or the Russia-controlled parts of Ukraine, please note that you could face fines or imprisonment for sharing, liking, commenting on, or saving our content, or for contacting us.

To find out more, click here.