Accessibility links

Breaking News

Georgia's Parliament To Ratify EU Accord On July 18

The speaker of Georgia's parliament says the legislature will ratify the country's Association Agreement with the European Union on July 18.

Davit Usupashvili said on July 9 that he would ask President Giorgi Margvelashvili to convene an extraordinary session of parliament -- which is now in recess -- in order to approve the accord.

Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine all signed the key accord, which brings them closer to the EU, in Brussels on June 27.

Moldova's parliament ratified the country's Association Agreement with the EU on July 2.

Romania became the first EU-member state to ratify the EU’s accords with Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine earlier this month.

Based on reporting by and ITAR-TASS