Accessibility links

Breaking News

Kyrgyz Lawmakers Fail To Elect Parliament Speaker

BISHKEK -- Kyrgyz lawmakers have failed to elect a new speaker of parliament in the first round of a secret vote.

Two candidates -- Kanat Isaev of the Kyrgyzstan party and Bakyt Torobaev of the Onuguu-Progress party -- received 51 votes each in the April 20 vote.

At least 61 votes are needed to be elected speaker in the 120-seat parliament.

Both candidates were withdrawn from the ballot after the results were announced.

A second round of vote will be organized after lawmakers nominate new candidates.

The previous speaker, Asylbek Jeenbekov, resigned last week after his brother, Sooronbai Jeenbekov, was nominated as the Central Asian nation's prime minister.

With reporting by Interfax

RFE/RL has been declared an "undesirable organization" by the Russian government.

If you are in Russia or the Russia-controlled parts of Ukraine and hold a Russian passport or are a stateless person residing permanently in Russia or the Russia-controlled parts of Ukraine, please note that you could face fines or imprisonment for sharing, liking, commenting on, or saving our content, or for contacting us.

To find out more, click here.