Accessibility links

Breaking News

Kyrgyzstan's New Government Takes Oath Of Office

New Kyrgyz Prime Minister Sooronbai Jeenbekov

BISHKEK -- The new government of Kyrgyzstan, led by Prime Minister Sooronbai Jeenbekov, has taken the oath of office.

President Almazbek Atambaev attended the oath ceremony held in the parliament in Bishkek on April 28.

Lawmakers elected Jeenbekov as prime minister on April 13, two days after Prime Minister Temir Sariev resigned in the midst of a corruption scandal.

Jeenbekov's brother, Asylbek Jeenbekov, quit the post of parliament speaker after Sooronbai Jeenbekov was nominated to become Kyrgyzstan's prime minister.

On April 27, the Kyrgyz parliament elected Chynybai Tursunbekov, of the Social Democratic Party, as the parliament's new speaker in the second round of a secret ballot.