Accessibility links

Breaking News

20 Candidates To Run For Kyrgyz Presidency


Prime Minister Almazbek Atambaev
BISHKEK -- Official campaigning has begun in Kyrgyzstan after the Central Election Commission named the final list of 20 candidates for president.

Leading candidates for the October 30 presidential vote include current Prime Minister Almazbek Atambaev, as well as Kamchibek Tashiyev and Adakhan Madumarov, who represent the Ata Zhurt (Motherland) and the Butun Kyrgyzstan (United Kyrgyzstan) parties, respectively.

Eight of the candidates signed today a Code of Conduct for Elections that was developed with the support of the OSCE Center in Bishkek.

The document outlines principles for candidates' behavior during the campaign and outlines a number of prohibited activities, including using language which potentially incites hatred.

The election is the culmination of constitutional reforms introduced after the ouster of President Kurmanbek Bakiev last year. The new model of government makes parliament the main decision-making body in Kyrgyzstan.

Current President Roza Otunbaeva, who led the interim government that took power, is to step down on December 31.

with agency reports