Accessibility links

Breaking News

Kyrgyzstan Passes Visa-Free Regime For Citizens Of 44 Nations

Kyrgyz President Almazbek Atambaev
Kyrgyz President Almazbek Atambaev
BISHKEK -- Officials in Kyrgyzstan say President Almazbek Atambaev has signed into law a measure clearing the way for citizens of 44 countries to stay in Kyrgyzstan visa-free for up to 60 days.

The law, approved by parliament last month, applies to citizens of Australia, New Zealand, most European Union member states, the United States, Canada, Mexico, some other countries in South America, as well as some countries in the Middle East and Southeastern Asia.

Kyrgyz officials say the law is aimed at increasing the number of wealthier foreign tourists coming to Kyrgyzstan to boost the economy.

RFE/RL has been declared an "undesirable organization" by the Russian government.

If you are in Russia or the Russia-controlled parts of Ukraine and hold a Russian passport or are a stateless person residing permanently in Russia or the Russia-controlled parts of Ukraine, please note that you could face fines or imprisonment for sharing, liking, commenting on, or saving our content, or for contacting us.

To find out more, click here.