Accessibility links

Breaking News

European Parliament Committee Backs Magnitsky Sanctions

The European Parliament building in Strasbourg
The European Parliament building in Strasbourg
BRUSSELS -- The European Parliament's Foreign Affairs Committee has proposed that 32 Russian officials be sanctioned by the EU due to their involvement in the death of Russian whistle-blowing lawyer Sergei Magnitsky.

The European Parliament had previously called on EU member states to emulate the United States' so-called Magnitsky List and freeze assets and impose visa bans on Russian officials, but certain European countries have blocked any such move.

However, after the March 17 decision by EU foreign ministers to sanction 13 Russian officials and an additional eight Crimeans for their roles in the crisis in Ukraine, there are hopes that EU member states might change their minds.

It is also the first time the European Parliament has presented the names of those they want punished.

The whole European Parliament is expected to overwhelmingly endorse the proposal during its April plenary.
  • 16x9 Image


    RFE/RL journalists report the news in 27 languages in 23 countries where a free press is banned by the government or not fully established. We provide what many people cannot get locally: uncensored news, responsible discussion, and open debate.

RFE/RL has been declared an "undesirable organization" by the Russian government.

If you are in Russia or the Russia-controlled parts of Ukraine and hold a Russian passport or are a stateless person residing permanently in Russia or the Russia-controlled parts of Ukraine, please note that you could face fines or imprisonment for sharing, liking, commenting on, or saving our content, or for contacting us.

To find out more, click here.