Accessibility links

Breaking News

Minsk 'Regrets' Move By Countries To Join EU Sanctions

Catherine Ashton announced sanctions against Belarus
The Foreign Ministry of Belarus says it "regrets" a decision by seven European countries to join an EU sanctions regime against Minsk.

The comment comes after EU foreign policy chief Catherine Ashton announced that Albania, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Macedonia, Serbia, Croatia, and Montenegro had joined an EU regime of economic and visa sanctions aimed at pressuring the Belarusian government.

Belarusian Foreign Ministry spokesman Andrey Savinykh said the sanctions "seed mistrust and hamper the real resolution of issues in dispute."

The EU sanctions, which ban a number of Belarusian officials from traveling to the bloc and have frozen their assets on EU territory, are aimed at pressuring Minsk to reverse its crackdown on civil society and release all political prisoners.
With reporting by Interfax
  • 16x9 Image

    RFE/RL's Belarus Service

    RFE/RL's Belarus Service is one of the leading providers of news and analysis to Belarusian audiences in their own language. It is a bulwark against pervasive Russian propaganda and defies the government’s virtual monopoly on domestic broadcast media.