Accessibility links

Breaking News

New Kyrgyz Coalition Replicates Previous Governing Coalition

Acting Kyrgyz Prime Minister Joomart Otorbaev (file photo)
BISHKEK -- Three political factions in the Kyrgyz parliament have established a new coalition.

Lawmakers of Kyrgyzstan's Social Democratic Party, Ar-Namys (Dignity) party and Ata-Meken (Homeland) agreed on March 31 to create the coalition called "For Statehood's Reinforcement."

The new coalition's staff fully replicates the previous ruling coalition, which was dismissed two weeks ago after Ata-Meken had pulled out of the grouping.

Chynybai Tursunbekov of the Social Democratic Party told RFE/RL that the new coalition will be officially announced on April 1.

Acting Prime Minister Joomart Otorbaev, who replaced Jantoro Satybaldiev last week, told lawmakers on March 31 that he does not plan to change the current government if he becomes the next prime minister.

The new ruling coalition will choose the next prime minister and government on April 2.
With reporting by KyrTAG