Accessibility links

Breaking News

Pakistani Taliban Announces Delegation To Talks With Government

ISLAMABAD -- A spokesman for the Pakistani Taliban (TTP) has announced the creation of a five-member delegation to represent the militant movement at talks with the government.

Spokesman Shahid Ullah Shahid told RFE/RL's Radio Mashaal the delegation comprises: Imran Khan, leader of Tehrik-e-Insaf (PTI) party; cleric Maulana Sami ul Haq; former cleric Maulana Abdul Aziz; Muhammad Ibrahim, a leader of the Jamat-e-Islami religious party; and Mufti Kifayatullah, a leader of Jumat-e-Ulama Islam religious party.

Shahid said TTP has gained the confidence of all five, who are ready to represent it.

On January 29, Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif announced the formation of a government committee for negotiations with TTP.

The committee consists of journalists Irfan Siddiqui and Rahimullah Yusufzai‚ former ambassador Rustam Shah Mehmand, and former intelligence official Muhammad Amir.
  • 16x9 Image

    RFE/RL's Radio Mashaal

    Radio Mashaal was launched in January 2010 in order to counter a growing number of Islamic extremist radio stations in Pakistan's Northwest Frontier Province (now Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa Province) and the Federally Administered Tribal Areas along the border with Afghanistan.