Accessibility links

Breaking News

Poroshenko Removes European Reporters From Ban List

Ukrainian President Petro Poroshenko has signed an order to revoke a ban on several journalists of British, Spanish, and German citizenship.

The journalists include BBC correspondent Steve Rosenberg and producer Emma Wells, both British, as well as German reporter Michael Rutz, who writes for Die Zeit.

Two Spanish journalists, Antonio Pampliega and Angel Sastre, who disappeared in Syria in July and are believed kidnapped by the Islamic State group, were also taken off the ban list on September 18.

Poroshenko on September 16 had signed a decree to ban about 400 people, including dozens of foreign journalists, from entering Ukraine on the grounds that they posed a threat to national security.

Most of the journalists on the list were Russian, and the measure was widely seen as a response to coverage of pro-Russian separatists in the country's east, whom the government has outlawed as terrorists.

The BBC called the measure a "shameful attack on media freedom."

Poroshenko had assured British Ambassador Judith Gough in a meeting on September 17 that he would remove the BBC journalists from the list.

Based on reporting by dpa, Interfax, and TASS