Accessibility links

Breaking News

Putin Reshuffles Nuclear Supervisory Council

President Vladimir Putin has replaced five of the nine members of the supervisory council of the Russian state nuclear power corporation Rosatom, and appointed a new chairman.

The Kremlin has offered no explanation for the shakeup at Rosatom, which controls nuclear power holding company Atomenergoprom, nuclear weapons companies, research institutes, and nuclear and radiation safety agencies.

Putin has appointed Deputy Prime Minister Dmitry Rogozin the new chair of the council, replacing First Deputy Prime Minister Igor Shuvalov.

Putin's decree removes from the council Economic Development Minister Andrei Belousov, Deputy Prime Minister Arkady Dvorkovich, presidential administration deputy chief Sergei Prikhodko, and Sergei Shmatko.

Joining the board are Deputy Economic Development Minister Andrei Klepach, Energy Minister Alexander Novak, and presidential aides Yury Trutnev and Yury Ushakov.

Based on reporting by and Interfax