Accessibility links

Breaking News

Putin Signs Law Returning 'Winter' Time

Russian President Vladimir Putin has signed a law reestablishing "standard" winter time in the Russian Federation.

The law that sets 11 time zones across Russia will come into force on October 26, meaning the clocks in Russia will be brought one hour back on that day.

In February 2011, then-President Dmitry Medvedev issued a decree that Russia would observe year-round Daylight Saving Time, known in Russia as "summer time."

Earlier this month Russian lawmakers approved the law, abolishing year-round Daylight Saving Time.

The current number of time zones in Russia is nine.

Based on reporting by Interfax and ITAR-TASS