Accessibility links

Breaking News

Five Police Killed In Rocket Attack In Northwestern Pakistan

Militants from a banned Pakistani group claimed responsibility for an attack that killed five police officers and wounded four others in a northwestern region.

A police official told RFE/RL that a rocket struck a police van they were riding in on April 11 in the district of Dera Ismail Khan.

The outlawed Tehrik-e Taliban (TTP) claimed responsibility for the attack, which took place near South Waziristan, an area on the border with Afghanistan that was once the headquarters of the group.

Also known as the Pakistani Taliban, the TTP has increased its attacks in the northwest, targeting the security forces over the past few months.

The incident occurred hours after parliament elected opposition lawmaker Shahbaz Sharif as the country's new prime minister. It was unclear if the attack was related to Sharif’s election.

Shortly before the vote, lawmakers from the party of the ousted Prime Minister Imran Khan collectively resigned from parliament.