Accessibility links

Breaking News

Russian Police Name Three Suicide Attackers In Stavropol

Russian Interior Ministry officers, investigators, and members of special services stand behind barrier tape in a settlement of the Novoselitsky district where a local police station was attacked in the southern Stavropol region on April 11.

Police in Russia say they have identified three suicide bombers who were killed as they tried to attack a police station in southern Russia.

TASS quoted officials in Russia's Investigative Committee who said the three attackers were all residents of the village of Kitayevskoye in the Novoselitsky district of the Stavropol region.

Kitayevskoye is close to the Novoselitsky district police building that came under attack on April 11.

The attackers were named as Kitayevskoye residents Zaur Akayev, 33; Ramazan Khaibulayev, 25; and Isai Abdulatipov, 20.

Initial reports said one of the men had been a suicide bomber, but investigators later said that all three men detonated suicide vests during the attack.

The Stavropol region is close to the North Caucasus, where an Islamic insurgency has simmered for years.

The Interior Ministry spokesman told Reuters that the authorities had responded to the attack by activating the "Fortress Plan," which meant police had been put on a higher state of military-style readiness.

An eyewitness video on the news portal filmed at what it said was the scene of the attack showed the blackened entrance to the police station and assorted debris in front of it.

Based on reporting by Reuters, AP, Interfax, and TASS