Accessibility links

Breaking News

Russia Plans To Add New Countries To Food Import Ban List

Russia said on August 11 that it is planning to add new countries to its Western food import ban list.

Russian Deputy Prime Minister Arkady Dvorkovich said the decision will be made soon.

He did not name the countries that will be added to the list, which already covers the United States, Canada, Australia, and the European Union.

Interfax news agency said seven countries will be added to the list.

Russia has banned most Western food imports in retaliation against U.S. and EU sanctions over Moscow's interference in Ukraine.

Russian officials on August 6 used a steamroller to crush tons of cheese, fruit, and vegetables -- defying public outrage to begin a controversial effort to destroy Western food that had been smuggled into the crisis hit country.

Based on reporting by Reuters and TASS