Accessibility links

Breaking News

Five New Members Elected To UN Security Council

The flag of the United Nations in New York (file photo)
The UN General Assembly has elected five new nonpermanent members to the UN Security Council.

Saudi Arabia, Chad, Nigeria, Chile, and Lithuania will serve for two years on the 15-member Security Council, starting January 1, 2014.

All five countries ran unapposed in the October 17 election, but they still needed approval from two-thirds of the General Assembly. They will replace Morocco, Togo, Pakistan, Guatemala, and Azerbaijan.

Chad, Saudi Arabia, and Lithuania have never served on the U.N.'s most powerful body, while Nigeria and Chile have both been on the Council four times previously. The Security Council has five veto-wielding permanent members -- the United States, Britain, France, Russia, and China -- and 10 nonpermanent members.

With reporting by Reuters and dpa