Accessibility links

Breaking News

New Initiative Against Sexual Abuse Being Launched

Cecilia Malmstrom
The European Union, the United States, and more than 20 other countries are creating a new alliance to fight the online sexual abuse of children.

The initiative is being launched on December 5 in Brussels in an event due to be attended by the EU Commissioner for Home Affairs Cecilia Malmstrom and U.S. Attorney General Eric Holder.

The goal of the alliance is to increase crossborder police cooperation to identify victims of child pornography and child prostitution who are exploited via the Internet and to capture pedophiles who are active online.

In addition to the United States and the 27-nation EU, other participating countries include Albania, Australia, Cambodia, Canada, Croatia, Georgia, Ghana, Japan, Moldova, Montenegro, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, the Philippines, Serbia, South Korea, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine and Vietnam.

Based on reporting by AP and dpa