Accessibility links

Breaking News

Foreign Tourists Not Allowed To Enter Russia's Chukotka

Eighty-three tourists from 11 countries have not been allowed to enter the Chukotka Peninsula in Russia's Far East.

The local government said on July 29 that the tourists were nationals from Argentina, Austria, Britain, Canada, Denmark, Germany, Israel, Latvia, South Africa, Switzerland, and the United States.

It said they were not allowed to leave their cruise ship, which arrived in Chukotka on July 28.

The "Silver Discoverer" has now left Russian waters.

According to Chukotka officials, several routes of the Pacific Network company that brings foreign tourists to the peninsula have not been coordinated with local authorities this year.

Another cruise ship with foreign tourists onboard, the "Hanseatic," is expected to arrive in the peninsula on July 31. Chukotka officials say the ship’s route has not been coordinated with them either.

Based on Chukotka government's statement at
  • 16x9 Image


    RFE/RL journalists report the news in 27 languages in 23 countries where a free press is banned by the government or not fully established. We provide what many people cannot get locally: uncensored news, responsible discussion, and open debate.

RFE/RL has been declared an "undesirable organization" by the Russian government.

If you are in Russia or the Russia-controlled parts of Ukraine and hold a Russian passport or are a stateless person residing permanently in Russia or the Russia-controlled parts of Ukraine, please note that you could face fines or imprisonment for sharing, liking, commenting on, or saving our content, or for contacting us.

To find out more, click here.