Accessibility links

Breaking News

Tuvalu Retracts Recognition Of Abkhazia, South Ossetia

Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
The Polynesian island nation of Tuvalu has retracted its 2011 recognition of Georgia's breakaway regions of Abkhazia and South Ossetia.

Georgian Foreign Minister Maia Panjikidze and her Tuvaluan counterpart Taukelina Finikaso, signed an agreement on March 31 to establish diplomatic relations.

Citing the signed protocol, Finikaso said his country supports Georgia's territorial integrity in its internationally recognized borders, which also includes Abkhazia and South Ossetia.

Last year, Tbilisi signed a similar agreement with the South Pacific island nation of Vanuatu, which also retracted its earlier recognition of Georgia's two separatist regions.

Abkhazia and South Ossetia were recognized by Russia after a short Russian-Georgian war in 2008.

The two regions' independence from Georgia has also been recognized by Nicaragua, Venezuela, and the Pacific island of Nauru.

Based on reporting by and

RFE/RL has been declared an "undesirable organization" by the Russian government.

If you are in Russia or the Russia-controlled parts of Ukraine and hold a Russian passport or are a stateless person residing permanently in Russia or the Russia-controlled parts of Ukraine, please note that you could face fines or imprisonment for sharing, liking, commenting on, or saving our content, or for contacting us.

To find out more, click here.