Accessibility links

Breaking News

U.S. Senate Confirms 16 New Ambassadors

U.S. Secretary of State Hillary Clinton
WASHINGTON -- The U.S. Senate has confirmed new ambassadors to 16 countries, including Croatia, Georgia, Kosovo, and India.

Kenneth Merten, formerly Washington's envoy to Haiti, will take up the post in Zagreb.

Richard Norland, formerly U.S. ambassador to Uzbekistan and deputy chief of mission at the U.S. Embassy in Kabul, was confirmed as the new envoy to Tbilisi.

Tracey Ann Jacobson, former U.S. envoy to Tajikistan and Turkmenistan, was confirmed as Washington's new ambassador to Pristina.

The Senate also confirmed career diplomat and former U.S. Ambassador to Pakistan Nancy Powell as the new ambassador to New Delhi, a position that had been vacant for a year.

Amid recent confirmation delays, U.S. Secretary of State Hillary Clinton had urged ambassadors, who traditionally step down with the end of an administration, to stay until their replacements are in place.

Other ambassadors confirmed included envoys to Estonia, Latvia, Libya, and Tunisia.

With AFP and "Foreign Policy" reporting
  • 16x9 Image


    RFE/RL journalists report the news in 27 languages in 23 countries where a free press is banned by the government or not fully established. We provide what many people cannot get locally: uncensored news, responsible discussion, and open debate.

See comments (2)

This forum has been closed.