Accessibility links

Breaking News

A Look At The 2023 Winners Of The Prestigious 'World Press Photo' Competition

Evgeniy Maloletka of the AP won the World Press Photo of the Year for his photograph titled Mariupol Maternity Hospital Airstrike, which captures the pain and suffering brought on by Russia's invasion of Ukraine. The World Press Photo Story of the Year was awarded to Mads Nissen of Politiken/Panos Pictures for his The Price Of Peace In Afghanistan. The World Press Photo Long-Term Project Award went to Anush Babajanyan VII Photo/National Geographic Society for Battered Waters, her coverage of water management and its impact on Central Asia. A photo-based video from Iran titled Woman, Life, Freedom by 10 anonymous Middle East Images/Iranwire photographers was also awarded in the competition. Additional winners from RFE/RL's coverage regions are also presented.

World Press Photo is an independent nonprofit organization that supports photojournalism. This year's winners were chosen from more than 60,000 entries (still images and multimedia) submitted by 3,752 entrants from 127 countries. The entries were judged first by six regional juries, and winners were chosen by a global jury consisting of the regional jury chairs plus the global jury chair. The winners of the prestigious international contest were announced on April 20.

16x9 Image


RFE/RL journalists report the news in 27 languages in 23 countries where a free press is banned by the government or not fully established. We provide what many people cannot get locally: uncensored news, responsible discussion, and open debate.