Accessibility links

Breaking News

Ukrainian President Announces First New Cabinet Members

Viktor Yushchenko (file photo) 27 September 2005 (RFE/RL) -- Ukrainian President Viktor Yushchenko today began announcing the members of his new government.

According to the president's website, Yushchenko signed decrees appointing Vyacheslav Kyrylenko and Roman Besmertny to be deputy prime ministers.

Yushchenko also appointed Viktor Baloga, a former governor of the western Zakarpatye region, to be emergency situations minister. Ivan Plachkov remains energy minister.

Foreign Minister Borys Tarasyuk and several other cabinet ministers also will keep their positions.

The majority of the new government were expected to be announced by the end of the day.

New Prime Minister Yuriy Yekhanurov was approved by parliament at the second attempt last week.

See also:

More news and analysis on Ukraine