Accessibility links

Breaking News

SCO Supreme Court Chiefs Meet In Shanghai

(epa) September 20, 2006 -- The supreme court chiefs of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization's (SCO) six member countries are gathering in Shanghai for two days of talks.

The consultations are due to last until September 22.

The talks will focus on ways to strengthen multilateral ties against what China commonly refers to as the "three evil forces" of "terrorism, extremism, and separatism."

Other topics for discussion will include cooperation in fighting cross-border crime and extradition procedures.

The SCO is comprised of China, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan. Pakistan, Mongolia, Iran, and India have observer status.

(Xinhua, Kazakhstan Today, RIA Novosti)

RFE/RL has been declared an "undesirable organization" by the Russian government.

If you are in Russia or the Russia-controlled parts of Ukraine and hold a Russian passport or are a stateless person residing permanently in Russia or the Russia-controlled parts of Ukraine, please note that you could face fines or imprisonment for sharing, liking, commenting on, or saving our content, or for contacting us.

To find out more, click here.