Accessibility links

Breaking News

Kyrgyz President Continues To Appoint Ministers

(RFE/RL) February 6, 2007 (RFE/RL) -- Kyrgyzstan's President Kurmanbek Bakiev continued to appoint ministers today, following the approval of a new government structure by lawmakers, RFE/RL's Kyrgyz Service reports.

Shailoobek Niyazov, Nurlan Sulaimanov, Akylbek Japarov, and Sultan Raev remain at their posts as health, transportation and communication, finance, and culture ministers, respectively.

Kanybek Osmonaliev becomes new education and science minister.

Bakiev earlier appointed the new government's two deputy prime ministers, the interior, defense, and justice ministers, as well as the chairman of the National Security Committee.

Parliament approved a new government structure on February 6, following the confirmation of Azim Isabekov as Kyrgyzstan's new prime minister on January 29.

RFE/RL has been declared an "undesirable organization" by the Russian government.

If you are in Russia or the Russia-controlled parts of Ukraine and hold a Russian passport or are a stateless person residing permanently in Russia or the Russia-controlled parts of Ukraine, please note that you could face fines or imprisonment for sharing, liking, commenting on, or saving our content, or for contacting us.

To find out more, click here.