Accessibility links

Breaking News

U.S. Exempts 7 Countries From Iran Oil Sanctions

U.S. Secretary of State Hillary Clinton
The United States has said it will exempt seven countries, including India, from financial sanctions because they have significantly cut purchases of Iranian oil.

Secretary of State Hillary Clinton said exemptions would also be granted to South Korea, Turkey, Malaysia, South Africa, Sir Lanka, and Taiwan.

In March, the United States granted exemptions to 11 nations, including European Union countries and Japan.

In a statement on June 11, Clinton said that, by halting oil purchases, governments are sending a message to Iran's leaders that until they come clean on their nuclear program, they will face further isolation and pressure.

The U.S. and Western allies believe Iran is trying to build nuclear weapons.

Tehran says the atomic program is peaceful.

Based on reporting by Reuters and AP

See comments (1)

This forum has been closed.