Accessibility links

Breaking News

Kyrgyz Interim President Names New Ministers

Roza Otunbaeva (file photo)
Roza Otunbaeva (file photo)
BISHKEK -- Kyrgyz interim President Roza Otunbaeva appointed several new members to the country's caretaker government at a cabinet session on July 14, RFE/RL's Kyrgyz Service reports.

The new appointees were named to replace members who resigned so they can take part in parliamentary elections, which are scheduled for October.

Amangeldy Muraliev was named first deputy prime minister, and Aleksandr Kostyuk, Okomkhan Abdullaeva, and Jantoro Satybaldiev as deputy prime ministers.

Also recently appointed was Chorobek Imashev as minister of finance, Aygul Ryskulova as minister of migration and labor, Sabyrjan Abdukarimov as minister of health care, Mamasharip Turdukulov as minister of agriculture, and Sadyk Sherniyaz as minister of culture.

All other ministers in the interim government, who came to power after antigovernment protests ousted President Kurmanbek Bakiev on April 7, retained their posts.

Bishkek-based political analyst Mars Sariev told RFE/RL that Otunbaeva's new deputy prime ministers are reasonable choices with experience working under the government of Bakiev and his predecessor, Askar Akaev.

Sariev added that it was "very good" that none of the new appointees has ties with any political party or group.

At the same time, he noted that the new cabinet is a so-called caretaker government that will be replaced after the parliamentary elections.