Accessibility links

Breaking News

Armenian Parliament Ratifies Eurasian Economic Union Treaty

YEREVAN -- The Armenian parliament has overwhelmingly passed a treaty to join the Russia-led Eurasian Economic Union.

The vote on December 4 was 103 in favor, seven votes against, and one abstention.

The parliament started debating the treaty on December 1.

Dozens of opposition activists and their supporters have rallied in front of the parliament building for a fourth straight day urging lawmakers to reject the treaty.

Protesters say the treaty’s ratification would affect Armenia's sovereignty and independence.

Armenian President Serzh Sarkisian signed an agreement to join the group in October at a ceremony in Minsk.

Armenia is set to join Russia, Belarus, and Kazakhstan in the economic grouping when it comes into force on January 1.

RFE/RL has been declared an "undesirable organization" by the Russian government.

If you are in Russia or the Russia-controlled parts of Ukraine and hold a Russian passport or are a stateless person residing permanently in Russia or the Russia-controlled parts of Ukraine, please note that you could face fines or imprisonment for sharing, liking, commenting on, or saving our content, or for contacting us.

To find out more, click here.