Accessibility links

Breaking News

Georgia Ratifies EU Association Agreement

The Georgian Parliament has ratified the Association Agreement with the European Union.

Parliament, at an extraordinary session on July 18, unanimously endorsed the agreement.

Georgia -- alongside Ukraine and Moldova -- signed the key political and economic accord in Brussels on June 27.

President Giorgi Margvelashvili, Prime Minister Irakli Garibashvili and government members, as well as foreign ministers of Bulgaria and Latvia, Kristian Vigenin and Edgars Rinkevics, respectively, Second Speaker of the Austrian Parliament Karlheinz Kopf and EU Commissioner for Enlargement and European Neighborhood Policy Stefan Fuele were in the chamber in Kutaisi as the parliament voted to ratify the EU Association Agreement.

With reporting by

RFE/RL has been declared an "undesirable organization" by the Russian government.

If you are in Russia or the Russia-controlled parts of Ukraine and hold a Russian passport or are a stateless person residing permanently in Russia or the Russia-controlled parts of Ukraine, please note that you could face fines or imprisonment for sharing, liking, commenting on, or saving our content, or for contacting us.

To find out more, click here.