Accessibility links

Breaking News

Ten Kyrgyz Opposition Parliament Deputies Defect To Majority

Ar-Namys deputy Anvar Artykov confirmed that the deputies want to join the majority.
BISHKEK -- Ten Kyrgyz opposition deputies have defected to the government's parliament majority, RFE/RL's Kyrgyz Service reports.

The government press service announced today that Ar-Namys (Dignity) faction members Anvar Artykov, Zamir Bekboev, Esengul Isakov, Kanybek Imanaliev, Abdyrakhman Mamataliev, Tokon Mamytov, Kojobek Ryspaev, Kamila Talieva, Nurlan Torobekov, and Talantbek Uzakbaev sent a letter to Prime Minister Almazbek Atambaev expressing their support for the coalition government.

The deputies wrote in their letter that their decision was based on an analysis of the current political situation and the government's responsibility for the country's development.

Ar-Namys deputy Artykov confirmed that he and his colleagues want to join the majority formed by the Ata-Jurt (Fatherland), Respublika (Republic), and Social Democratic parties.

The move will leave the Ar-Namys faction with 15 deputies.

Read more in Kyrgyz here