Accessibility links

Breaking News

Kyrgyz Government To Abolish Visas For Citizens Of 46 Countries

Tourists take in the view in the Canyon of Wonders near the town of Tamga close to Kyrgyzstan's Lake Issyk-Kul.
BISHKEK -- The Kyrgyz government has decided to allow the citizens of 46 countries to stay in the country for three months without obtaining a visa, RFE/RL's Kyrgyz Service reports.

Economic Regulations Minister Uchkun Tashbaev said at the cabinet session on October 25 that the introduction of the no-visa regime for those people visiting Kyrgyzstan would bring additional money to the country's economy in the long run.

Acting Prime Minister Omurbek Babanov said at the session that the treasury might lose 60-70 million soms ($1.3 million-$1.5 million) immediately after abolishing the visa requirement, as a short-term visitors' visa costs $70 per person.

But he said in the future the move would bring significant profits to Kyrgyz businesses and the government in the form of taxes because more foreigners would visit the country.

Most of the countries whose citizens would be exempt from the ban are from Europe, Asia, and North and South America.

It was not announced when the removal of the visa requirement will begin.

Read more in Kyrgyz here