Accessibility links

Breaking News

Lavrov Says Tajikistan Welcome To Join Eurasian Economic Union

Visiting Russian Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov says Tajikistan is welcome to join the Eurasian Economic Union of Russia, Belarus, and Kazakhstan that comes into being in January.

Lavrov, speaking after talks with Tajik counterpart Sirojiddin Aslov in Dushanbe on July 30, also expressed thanks to Tajikistan for its implementation of the Russian-Tajik agreement on keeping Russian troops at military bases in Tajikistan.

Aslov said that he and his Russian counterpart discussed bilateral relations and regional security issues, including situation in Afghanistan.

Aslov thanked Russia for its readiness to provide Tajik armed forces with military and technical assistance.

On July 31, Lavrov, Aslov and foreign ministers of China, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, and Uzbekistan are scheduled to discuss in Dushanbe the agenda of Shanghai Cooperation Organization's September summit, of which the six countries are members.