Accessibility links

Breaking News

Pakistan, India Join Shanghai Cooperation Organization


Leaders pose for a photo during a summit of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) in Astana, on June 9. From left to right: Uzbek President Shavkat Mirziyaev; Chinese President China Xi Jinping; Kazakh President Nursultan Nazarbaev; Russian President Vladimir Putin; Tajik President Emomali Rahmon, and Kyrgyz President Almazbek Atambaev.

ASTANA -- Pakistan and India have become full members of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO), expanding the regional security grouping into South Asia.

The presidents of the SCO member-states -- China, Russia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan -- signed a document granting Pakistan and India membership at a summit on June 9.

The presidents signed several other documents at the meeting in the Kazakh capital, Astana, including a convention on joint efforts against extremism.

Talks between the leaders of the six original members were to be followed by a broader meeting including India, Pakistan, and observer states Afghanistan, Belarus, and Mongolia.

Regional giants Russia and China have similar positions on major global issues but are vying for influence in energy-rich Central Asia.

  • 16x9 Image

    RFE/RL's Kazakh Service

    RFE/RL's Kazakh Service offers informed and accurate reporting in the Kazakh and Russian languages about issues that matter in Kazakhstan, while providing a dynamic platform for audience engagement and the free exchange of news and ideas.