Accessibility links

Breaking News

Kyrgyzstan Gets New Constitutional Council

Bishkek, 25 April 2005 (RFE/RL) -- Kyrgyzstan replaced its constitutional council today, appointing a new head and members.

The new council comprises 114 members -- 37 parliamentary deputies, 10 representatives from the executive branch, 10 from the judiciary branch, and 57 from political parties and nongovernmental groups.

Long-time opposition figure Omurbek Tekebaev will head the council.

The council will make changes to the constitution before the scheduled 10 July presidential election is held.

RFE/RL has been declared an "undesirable organization" by the Russian government.

If you are in Russia or the Russia-controlled parts of Ukraine and hold a Russian passport or are a stateless person residing permanently in Russia or the Russia-controlled parts of Ukraine, please note that you could face fines or imprisonment for sharing, liking, commenting on, or saving our content, or for contacting us.

To find out more, click here.